Skip to content

Snow Melt and Hopes for Spring {Daily Reflections}

Finally, winter seems to be on it’s way out. The mercury climbed into the mids-40s today and rain is forecasted all week. In fact, many parts of the county are under a flood warning today and into early tomorrow as snow melt and precipitation are expected to cause the rivers and streams to crest about a foot above flood stage. On our property we have traded the snow and ice or mud… lots of mud.

I’m feeling somewhat worn out from a long, dreary winter and slightly energized by the promise of spring. I’m ready to spend less time locked in my office at work and more time on homesteading projects. I’ve got serious plans for the next three seasons. I’m thinking gardening, harvesting, canning, painting, fence building, soap making, and hoping to expand our livestock.

I might cry at the sight of the first bright yellow daffodil punching up through the soggy spring crust. Winter, please go out like a lamb.

IMG_4519

IMG_4524

IMG_0427

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Coffee, Chaos and Christ

The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Frühlingskabine Micro-Farm

From a scrappy 1/4 acre to a homestead on more! Livestock, gardening, meat, wool, eggs, dairy, DIY projects, and life from scratch.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!