Skip to content

These Are My People {Mother Earth News Fair Weekend}

Last weekend we packed up the car and headed to Seven Springs for Mother Earth News Fair. This was my third time attending the Fair and my father, sister, and baby Cora came along for trip. After an easy drive, we checked into the hotel at Seven Springs. **If you are planning on going to the Fair at Seven Springs, I highly recommend staying in the hotel. The past two times we’ve attended, we stayed either off-site or at other properties at the resort, and have found that being able to simply walk down the stairs and out to the door to the festivities is wonderful, especially if you have a small child in tow.**

We stayed Friday through Sunday and tried to take in as much of the sights and sounds of the Fair as possible. We attended talks on a variety of subjects, some we were familiar with such as soap making and chickens and others on topics that we hope to get into such as aquaponics, essentials oils and sprouting. Each time I’ve attended, I seemed to leave craving a more hands on experience but nonetheless, I really enjoyed the lectures and always come away with various tidbits of information to build upon. The vendors were also wonderful; Amy and I walked away with craft sodas, clay toothpaste (gross!), handmade soaps and sprouting kits.

Beyond just getting away for the weekend with family, I think what I enjoyed most about the Fair is just being among wonderful, open-minded people with the desire to be more self-sufficient and build community. And everyone is welcome.

I’m already looking forward to next year’s Fair.

IMG_3964 IMG_3953 IMG_3974 IMG_3973 IMG_3972 IMG_3975 IMG_3976

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

